Need help/opinions on setting up a new system

Participant count
  • Participant list

Chris.H

Hi everyone, I've been looking for a good discussion board where I can start a build topic for my system I'm planning. I'm new to car audio so you'll have to overlook the new guy questions...

Anyway, here's what I got. 2009 Silverado Crew Cab LTZ w/ factory Bose sound system. The head unit does not have navigation, just the standard Bose w/ CD. I want to add two 10's under my backseat, and do it right to the best of my abilities and with the help from you guys.

I want to keep the factory head unit, so I know I know I need a line converter recommendations on brands are welcome here, and installation location.

The subs I'm looking at are the Kicker CVT104 also suggestions criticisms welcome.

As for an amp I'm not really sure what to get to power these subs, or if you guys have suggestions for a better sub a good amp to power those.

As far as a box is concerned I haven't made up my mind if I want a down firing box or not to go under the backseat. I think this is what I'm going to go with just for the sake of keeping the subs safe.

All help/suggestions is much appreciated, provide some links too if you can.

Thanks in advance guys!

Sorry should've mentioned that in first post. I'm not really sure exactly, no more than 1000-1500 anyway because that's what the local audio shop quoted me for labor/install. I think I can do it cheaper with myself and a friend. I don't have to have the best but, I don't want a crappy setup either. I know I can get a good down firing box for about 200 but I haven't shopped around either so that leaves plenty of room for wiring, subs, amp, and whatever else.