Need help. Amp has stopped working.

Participant count
  • Participant list

Jberreth007

This is my first build and I have tried to keep it small and simple to start with. I am running a planet audio 4000 watt amp to a kicker comp 10" sub. I have checked and rechecked everything and I am hitting a road block. Yesterday, I was reinstalling a line out converter ( the first one I had was a cheap boss one that I suspected was giving off static) and once I was done with that I was tightening the power and ground leads on my amp. I must have touched both positive and negative as there was a small spark that was let off. Since then my amp won't turn on. I have checked all the fuses, wires, grounds, loc connection, speaker wire etc.

my question is, did I blow my amp by simply touching the pos and neg terminals on the amp or is there something I can do?

Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks

James

Normally Yes! You have possibly blown the power supply within the amplifier..Sometimes you may get lucky,but 99.9% of the time its a Failure/damaged.You can take it out of the vehicle and have it bench tested at a local Car audio shop..Most charge very little or nothing at all to test.For future installations.Always wire the amp up accordingly and double check wiring before placing the inline fuse in tact,keeps this from happening

Always install the fuse last. That's the proper method.

Measure what the Remote voltage is feeding into the amplifier along with the power cable.

Thanks for your input guys. Is this something that can be fixed on the amp or am I better off just getting a new one?Thanks again