Just did my third install - 3 completely different experiences -hi level vs low level

Participant count
  • Participant list
My first audio install I knew absolutely nothing about audio equipment. Being a trained electronics tech I understand all the electrical theory (digital) but translating that to audio (analog) was a challenge. As I struggled with decisions I found this forum which absolutely took me to a new level...just bouncing ideas off the forums and getting experienced replies led me to a beautiful installation of my pioneer AVIC 4200 HU, Pioneer GM-6704 Amp and Alpine S in the doors. Added a JL Audio 13 inch sealed sub driven by Alpine M500 and it sounded great! In that install I ran all new speaker wires and by-passed all the factory wires. Learned to set gain using a volt meter. 2009 Silverado 2500HD. Then bouncing ideas around this forum I learned how to set cross-overs to not blow up all my new equipment. All crossover and EQ settings were done in the Pioneer HU. Amps were wide open.

Next install happened when I traded my truck for a 2019 Ram 2500. This time I kept the factory HU, installed a digital sound processor to get low level inputs for the same amps, but different speakers. I went Kenbwood KFC 6.5s this time. Using a DSR1 as a DSP...that thing was a challenge to learn and to be honest I still don't think I have it set correctly. I can get good sound, but I feel like it is not it's best. Using a t-harness I used all the existing/factory speaker wires. The equipment is all tuned...this time using a SMD DD1on the Gain settings for each of the 3 amps. But the crossovers and EQ settings on the Perfect Tunes app I just can't get it to sound right. Definitely easier to use crossovers and EQ on the Pioneer AVIC HU.