Is it Ok to run under RMS rating?

cmartinez73

CarAudio.com Recruit
Im very new to caraudio and trying to learn so bare with. Im going with 2 AB HD 12s that have a combined rms rating of 4000, would they sound/is it possible to run them at 1750 each for a combined rms of 3500? i know its best to run subs at their rms rating but would it be severely not reccomened to do drop 250w each or would it sound alright just not be at their fullest potential? Im hoping to not have to need 2 extra batteries (which prolly wont fit), and just do 1 and a HO alt.
If its not the worst thing to run subs slightly under the rms rating, how much under can i go?
Im also aware that this may be a very dumb question because isnt turning the gain down, like when you dont want to bump, the same as running under the RMS rating?
because from my undersanding the rms is basically the average watts that getts putout becasue it hits the peak W for a very breif second.

Im very new to caraudio and trying to learn so bare with. Im going with 2 AB HD 12s that have a combined rms rating of 4000, would they sound/is it possible to run them at 1750 each for a combined rms of 3500? i know its best to run subs at their rms rating but would it be severely not reccomened to do drop 250w each or would it sound alright just not be at their fullest potential? Im hoping to not have to need 2 extra batteries (which prolly wont fit), and just do 1 and a HO alt.
If its not the worst thing to run subs slightly under the rms rating, how much under can i go?
Im also aware that this may be a very dumb question because isnt turning the gain down, like when you dont want to bump, the same as running under the RMS rating?
because from my undersanding the rms is basically the average watts that getts putout becasue it hits the peak W for a very breif second.
I seriously doubt you'd hear any difference between 3500 and 4000 watts...but no running less than rms power won't hurt your subs...

Last edited: