Installing a new amp - Fuse Question.

chrismcq

UK
Hey Guys,

I've been researching how to wire up an amplifier to my car but can't find an answer to my question..

I Have a Maystar QXT 275 (400W) amp and a Alpine V-power MRP-T130 90Wx2 amp.

Both Amps have Fuses inside the units however the fuse needs to be next to the battery ... ?

The maystar will require 30A but will that be 30A Near the battery and no fuse inside the actual amp or 30A in each fuse compartment = 60 A?? Really confused //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/frown.gif.a3531fa0534503350665a1e957861287.gif

Plus - Do you guys recommend i use the Alpine or Maystar amp at the front of the car ?

Can't afford a big Sub woofer in the back. At the moment i just want good sound from the front.

Any advice is highly appreciated.

This is my first attempt of installing an amp and want to make sure its done right.

You will still need a fuse on the wire, most will tell you to fuse for the size power wire you use, it is to keep you from burning up your car basically. A few will even say that they don't fuse their power wire, I would, if I were you. Someone with more knowledge on the subject may chime in on what fuse for what wire size.I ran 0/1g copper clad aluminum, so I am fused at 250amps, but I also run a 2k watt amp for sub stage though.

Yeah i have read the fuse near the battery is very important and I will put one there.

My amp wiring kit is on the way - A 10 gauge wire that has a fuse connected to it

If i have a fuse next to the battery will the fuse still be required inside the unit itself ?

Should i use 30A in each amp and battery or just one 30A Next to the battery ?

I am fused at 250amps, but I also run a 2k watt amp for sub stage though.
Nice Set up.. Must be putting out some extreme sound with 250A / 2K watt //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/cool.gif.3bcaf8f141236c00f8044d07150e34f7.gif