In-Line Circuit Breaker vs. In-Line Fuse and Holder?

CobaltKicker
10+ year member

I Humped Your MOM
I am trying to see whether to get a 150 amp fuse and fuse holder or just buy a 140 amp circuit breaker for my car like this one: http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_2267.html. What's the difference?....I am leaning towards the circuit breaker, due to me never having to replace the fuses and I can just flick a switch and go back to booming, since high amperage fuse are so **** much. Let me know people, I am going by your feedback, on what I should do with my set-up.

Thanks - CobaltKicker.//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/eyebrow.gif.fe2c18d8720fe8c7eaed347b21ea05a5.gif

im pretty new in car audio but ive always had fuses before and this last time i bought a circuit breaker and wow its so much easier, like you said you just flip the switch and its off, then flip it back on and its on, i dont know if there are any differences but if there arent then i would go with the breaker.

there is a chance the coil inside might break and fuse the contacts inside and you wont have a fuse\circuit-breaker at all. fuses will break if there is sufficent current draw.

thats why i dont use them.

req made a pretty good point i guess if that happin you would never know but i hate replacing fuses all the time and its not like they cheap either , i got a circuit breaker and love it, it pops hit the switch and im rocking again no looking for fuses or looking for stores who sell them, imo go with the breaker.

Fuse...

A circuit breaker can become unreliable and not function properly. I can understand the convenience of it. But I just prefer the tried and true method of a simple fuse vs. a mechanical object with more "stuff" to go wrong with.

Fuses aren't that expensive..

I suppose you could always get a ~100a breaker with a ~140a fuse to follow it. That way if you really screw up, the fuse will pop and keep the fires to a minimum.