Im VERY new to car audio..

Storm1619
10+ year member

I have never bought or researched into anything to do with car audio until very recently. I want to get my first real sound system, and am having trouble what equipment to use, mainly the amp and the subs. I know I want 2 12" subs, but I do not know what kind.

I am pretty sure I want this amp: MTX Audio Thunder801D (http://www.cardomain.com/item/MTX801D)

However, I do not know what all this ohm business is. All I know is that I want my system to POUND, and I think this has the required RMS to do it with 2 12"s. Do you guys think you could recommend a good pair of 12's that would compliment the above amp. My friend claims he knows how to install all the components.

Thanks for any replies.

First of all, welcome to the forum.

However, I do not know what all this ohm business is.
Go to this site: http://www.bcae1.com for info about impedance and etc...

What do you want to do with your system? Get really loud? Sound really good? Little bit of both? What kind of budget are we talking about here? Thanks...

Thanks for the link!

Well I want it to sound fairly loud, but sound quality is more is more important than volume. I would be willing to spend probably $150 for each sub.

This is what you have to work with:

RMS Power: 400W x 1 @ 4 ohms

RMS Power: 800W x 1 @ 2 ohms

Since you want the most out of your amp, you'd need to get 2 dual voice coil (DVC) subs at 2ohms.

If sound quality is important to you, i'd suggest getting 2 12" Alpine Type-R's. It would be perfect for that amp. Just make sure you get the 2ohm DVC.

Wire it like this:

2_2ohmDVC_2ohm.gif

two svc 45 subs will work as well.....and would be a touch less confusing to hook up with that amp, which is a great amp BTW.

at $150 per sub...i'd recommend a pair of soundsplinter rl-i's u can get a pair of single 4's for $300...and u won't be disappointed with their performance or the customer courtesy u'll recieve.