I need your help please...

Participant count
  • Participant list

Jimmy G

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hello to all,

I am a complete novice to sound system wiring, so please forgive me if my questions aren't clear. I will do the best I can.  

My wife and I were given a 2007 Winnebago View motor home. It only has 12,000 miles on a Mercedes Benz chassis and the outside looks brand new. However, the inside was used to cook meth and the chemicals destroyed virtually everything electronic in the coach. I have finished replacing every single light fixture and switch and have moved on to the sound system. I need to know if I can change some parts of it or if it is even possible to do what I want to do.

The system had a two-channel crossover, but it was eaten by chemicals. I looked it up online and sort of know what a crossover does. This one had two yellow wires and two white wires coming in to it and had the same coming out. I assume the inputs were coming from the Jensen radio/dvd player (it is 10 feet away and there is a mass of wiring that is all colored the same (yellow and white) all throughout the motor home, so I'm only guessing). The outputs went to two tweeter-looking speakers on two different walls. I assume the crossover was filtering frequencies to these tweeters. There is an inductor in line with the speakers and the crossover. I assume it is a frequency filter but don't really know.

The coach has a dash radio, a coach radio/dvd and a television. The coach speakers can be used with each.