Help, Do I Need A Line Driver???

Participant count
  • Participants list
First, I apologize if this is the wrong section to post in! Anyways, my setup I have purchased are a Pioneer AVH-2600BT, an Alpine MRX-M110, and 2 Alpine SWS-12ds's. I am wondering if I need, or it would be highly beneficial to get a line driver for my my amp and subs? I ask this because my Headunit only has a 2v preamp... Now I am not claiming this is correct at all, but a friend of mine who knows a bit about car audio told me my Subs aren't going to be nearly as powerful or clear without a line driver because I don't have 4v preamp, so I need to get a line driver. I'm not sure if this is true at all or not and was hoping to get some clarification on what to do. What will a line driver do for my system as far as benefits, and do I need to get one? I've read that I can get just as clear of a signal with 2V, so I'm confused. Sorry if this is all jumbled up, I'm a newb! I appreciate all the help in advance.

Thanks,

Eli

No you wont. Headunit preamp voltage is used to match to the amp input voltage. As long as the amp can take a 2v input you will be fine.

If the signal is bad and subs arent "clear" then using a line driver will only amplify the crappy signal provided. Thats assuming you already have proper amp and headunit settings.

No you wont. Headunit preamp voltage is used to match to the amp input voltage. As long as the amp can take a 2v input you will be fine.
If the signal is bad and subs arent "clear" then using a line driver will only amplify the crappy signal provided. Thats assuming you already have proper amp and headunit settings.
So what does the preamp voltage have to do with it? I've just heard that a higher preamp V will help with preventing interference from the power wire?

So what does the preamp voltage have to do with it? I've just heard that a higher preamp V will help with preventing interference from the power wire?