Help Configuring Head Unit Vs. Sub Amp Crossover

Participant count
  • Participant list

txjeep

CarAudio.com Newbie
Texas
Preface that I am very new to all of this. This is my first time building a sound system. This equipment is going into a Jeep Scrambler.

My head unit is Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503
Sub Amp is Kicker 42PXA5001
Sub is Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

I have attached the audio settings for the head unit and the crossover setting for the amp.

My question is, should I use the head unit to set the crossover for the sub or use the amp to set the crossover for the sub? Once installed it will be very difficult to make changes to the amp settings.

In either scenario, what should the sub amp crossover settings look like?

Thank you in advance.

IMG_0059.png

IMG_0060.png

IMG_0061.png

IMG_0062.png

Last edited:
Preface that I am very new to all of this. This is my first time building a sound system. This equipment is going into a Jeep Scrambler.

My head unit is Kenwood Excelon KMM-X503
Sub Amp is Kicker 42PXA5001
Sub is Polk Audio DB 842 SVC

I have attached the audio settings for the head unit and the crossover setting for the amp.

My question is, should I use the head unit to set the crossover for the sub or use the amp to set the crossover for the sub? Once installed it will be very difficult to make changes to the amp settings.

In either scenario, what should the sub amp crossover settings look like?

Thank you in advance.

View attachment 52703

View attachment 52704

View attachment 52705

View attachment 52696
Have you considered testing your settings based on the instruction, adjusting them to meet your desired sound and then doing you final install? That's what I did. Also, look on YouTube.com for your amplifier and type in how to set..................

Your subs freq response is 30-200hz. There just isn't a good setting to use on the amp. Use 180 or 220 on the head unit.