Help a total noob out

naledbet

So, around christmas I bought my first system for my car. I got 2 12w3 JL's, a 500w Rock Fos Power amp, Sony xplod deck, capacitor, and 4 new door speakers. I believe the subs are in a ported box. This system has never been as loud as I wanted it to be. I realize I could be pushing a lot more wattage but I dont have money for a new amp right now. What can I do to make them as loud as possible?

A friend of mine was messing with some settings on the deck the other day and I believe he ended up blowing them...luckily the place I got them repairs for free. Once they are all fixed up I just don't want to mess them up again but I want them to be louder...

So, around christmas I bought my first system for my car. I got 2 12w3 JL's, a 500w Rock Fos Power amp, Sony xplod deck, capacitor, and 4 new door speakers. I believe the subs are in a ported box. This system has never been as loud as I wanted it to be. I realize I could be pushing a lot more wattage but I dont have money for a new amp right now. What can I do to make them as loud as possible?

A friend of mine was messing with some settings on the deck the other day and I believe he ended up blowing them...luckily the place I got them repairs for free. Once they are all fixed up I just don't want to mess them up again but I want them to be louder...
For one, Id definitely get an amp to power the front speakers. The amp in your deck (any deck) is grossly small, and heavily laden with distortion. In other words, a front amp will not only make your stereo louder, but sound better too.

Without knowing more details about your system, Im having to guess that you have not sealed your front doors. Foing this, by way of covering all the holes with deadener/wood/sheetmetal/etc will improve the bass response and over all fidelity of your front speakers.