Headlights dim and car idles at lower RPM after Sub install

naheed24

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi,

I just got a 120W RMS MTX '8 Subwoofer installed in my car today. After testing I noticed that my Idle RPM has dropped and the car gets shaky when the gear is set to Drive and when stopping on a red light. Also at night the headlights and interior lights dim when the woofer hits. Is there a lot of load on the battery? Honda Civic 2012 coupe. Any suggestions?

Thanks.

120 watts is hardly anything and shouldn’t have your lights dimming. I know the Honda’s like to shut off the alt to save fuel but I’m no expert on what models have that feature.

Last edited:
I don't think 120 watts is going to make your headlights dim. LED headlights shouldn't dim if you upgrade to those on 120, but since you are having problems. I'd first start by checking for a bad alternator and battery to begin with.

Throwing LEDs in a housing not made for leds and blinding everyone else with glare is not a fix.
This is the number one suggestion I have heard over the years from all my local shops, and from bigger Youtubers including Exo. You are entitled to your opinion. I was just giving a suggestion. And yes, they do make bulbs for his vehicle. I'm sorry if somebodies illegal LEDs blinded you in the past and made you upset.

Thats because they are morons and don't know jack **** about lighting. I've been building projector retrofits for 9 years now. I have alot of experience with lighting. Plug and play LED/HIDs are trash. Throwing leds in your headlights is not a fix for voltage issues.

Hi,

I just got a 120W RMS MTX '8 Subwoofer installed in my car today. After testing I noticed that my Idle RPM has dropped and the car gets shaky when the gear is set to Drive and when stopping on a red light. Also at night the headlights and interior lights dim when the woofer hits. Is there a lot of load on the battery? Honda Civic 2012 coupe. Any suggestions?

Thanks.