First time install, Saturn 1997 SC2

peterguz

OK, so i got this car yesterday and its audio just isn't up to my par. Im good with a router and electronics an all, and im willing to redo existing panels. Really im lost on where to start but i know i want serious sound(jackhammers). help me out, have fun with it, and i can hopefully work off your design. Thanks in advance Price range tops out at about 500 for the speakers, unless its really badass and i can do it over time

Current specs:

Car Audio Front Speakers Size: 6 1/2″

Car Audio Front Speakers Location: Doors

Car Audio Rear Speaker Size: 6 1/2"

Car Audio Rear Speakers Location: Rear Deck

Dash: 1995-99 SATURN DOUBLE-DIN RADIO DASH KIT COMBO 95-3105 - eBay (item 200436337059 end time Jun-05-10 11:31:25 PDT)

with

the pioneer AVH-P3200DVD found here Amazon.com: Pioneer AVH-P3200DVD In-Dash Double-DIN DVD Multimedia AV Receiver: Electronics

I have a 2000 sc1 I've been playing with on and off for spl and sq for about 6 years. First off Jackhammers are a joke. A realistic budget and goal is a good starting point. What exacting are you trying to do with this car? Good daily? Comps?

Equipment placement-

I personally don't run rear speakers anymore, haven't since I worked at a sound quality shop and was educated to many things. I can go into more details on this at another time. So for the fronts....get a good, quality set of 6.5" components. Mids in the doors work fine unless you want to spend the time and money on kick panels. Deaden the doors. The plastic in the car has it's advantages in spl but is a weak spot in getting good midbass in front. Tweeters in the a-pillars down low, slightly angled towards the windshield.

Head unit- Better head units= better sound out to everything down the line. I highly recomend the Alpine 9887 or Pioneer 800prs. The time aligment and eq capabilities of these decks are amazing. Well worth the extra money.