CONFUSED! help. Quad Voicecoil wiring to a 2ohm load?! Audiobahn Immortal

Zeepian
10+ year member

SCS, MI
I have an Audiobahn Immortal AWIS12P quad voice coil setup. Im pretty new at this and have been looking around on google. It's an old sub im tryin to put in my winter car. I pulled it out of the box i had it in and i think its wired to half ohm.

I just got this amp for 20 bucks its a SPL CRM820-2 820w Series III 2 Channel Amplifier.....now should i hook it up to 2 channels or bridge it? If i bridge it does that make the amp work harder?

i know the sub wants more power, but it's a little ripped and duct-taped:laugh:...lol. i know its ghetto but it still beats!

so if anybody has any idea on fixin the FOAM surround...im that addicted to bass.//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/yumyum.gif.0556df42231b304b9c995aefd13928a8.gif

i just need to know how...if anybody can help id appreciate it.

THANKSSSSSSSSSSSS

get some good epoxy on that surround, and im not familiar with that sub are you sure its a quad coil? that means it has 4 sets of positive and negative (red and black) terminals. If it only has 2 then its a dual voice coil sub, and i wouldnt run that amp at anything under 2 ohms.

btw bridging an amp usually works like this, you have 2 channels each putting out 100w at 2 ohms, so 100x2 @2ohm, now bridging or combinig both channels to form one channel will make just that, ONE CHANNEL, now most of the time a bridged amp like yours must run higher ohm load than the individual channels load, so 2 channels at 2 ohms will turn into 1 channel at 4 ohms, so 100x2 @2ohm bridged is like 200wx1 @4ohm.

step 1: buy a new sub

step 2: throw that audiobahn in the trash where it belongs

step 3: buy a new sub.

thats the best tutorial i can give at this time. your welcome.

step 1: buy a new substep 2: throw that audiobahn in the trash where it belongs

step 3: buy a new sub.

thats the best tutorial i can give at this time. your welcome.