Box for 2 18" jl's

Sleeklsc
5,000+ posts

CarAudio.com Veteran
2 18w6's

I'll be building a box in the coming weeks. I have no way to haul a couple sheets of mdf home so I'll prob have lowes/hd/menards cut the wood for me. I want to stick around jl specs @ 1.75 per, can go up a little if I need to. I was gunna go 3/4 obv with a brace or 2 that I can make myself. I do have all the proper cutting/power tools to finish it up.

What kind of dimensions am I looking at? If 1 18" requires a 19x19x12.5 would a box for 2 be good at 40x20x12.5? How many cf is that?

Remember guys i'm a total noob at this box building nonsence. I've always been satisfied with prefab sealed in my past 20 setup's(I'm lazy, sealed is simple). But I want to do these right by putting in some time building a solid enclosure.

Last edited by a moderator:
I'll let ya know.

The recommended 19x19x12.5 @ 1.75cf per is calculated using 1" mdf by JL.

Using 3/4", volume

38x19x12.5 @ 4.066

40x19x12.5 @ 4.288

40x20x12.5 @ 4.5

1"

38x19x12.5 @ 3.71

39x19x12.5 @ 3.82

39x20x12.5 @ 4.04

40x20x12.5 @ 4.15

Which would you guys pick out of the bunch? I would likely choose the 1" 38x19x12.5 @3.7cf or the 3/4" 38x19x12.5 @4.06cf the way I see it. What would the slightly bigger boxes offer me?

2 18w6's
I'll be building a box in the coming weeks. I have no way to haul a couple sheets of mdf home so I'll prob have lowes/hd/menards cut the wood for me. I want to stick around jl specs @ 1.75 per, can go up a little if I need to. I was gunna go 3/4 obv with a brace or 2 that I can make myself. I do have all the proper cutting/power tools to finish it up.

What kind of dimensions am I looking at? If 1 18" requires a 19x19x12 would a box for 2 be good at 40x20x12? How many cf is that?