Best SQ Headunit?

Freelander
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
I'm looking for a really good SQ headunit but I'm kind of on a budget.

I know the Alpine 7990's are really nice but they are way out of my range. I've been looking around trying to find cheaper alternatives. I really like the copper chassis headunits but again most of those are pretty expensive except for some older sony ones that I've came across on ebay.

I can pick up a Eclipse CD7000 really cheap but I have no experience with eclipse headunits.

What does everyone reccomend for a decent priced HU with good SQ and options?

well whats your "range" or budget. i have a Kenwood that lets me control every aspect of my speakers...

i dont have the model number off hand. its one of the decks with the built in G-analyzer.

Here is a short list for you. There are others but here is a bunch of them. I tried to stay in about the $200-$600 price range.

Alpine-9835, 9833, 9855, 9853

Clarion-DXZ775USB, DRZ9255

Eclipse-8445, 8455, 8053, CD7000, CD7100

Pioneer-880

^ yeah, what denim said //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif

Also, if you can wait, the Alpine CDA-9887 eventually will be out... It's supposed to be quite the serious head unit with good auto-tuning capability (with the extra Imprint "tool").

It's one of the two "Imprint" products (also the PXE-H650 OEM integration processor) coming from Alpine that uses the Audyssey technology seen in some better home A/V receivers such as Denon and Marantz.

I expect the 9887 should rival the 880 and 7100 head units... If they ever get their ducks in a row and get it to market in the US.

Also, you could go with a two-box solution such as an Alpine DVD head unit firing fiber-optic digital into the PXA-H701 processor, which is superb.. I've heard it.. Fantastic competition-level SQ, I thought.. IF properly tuned.