BandPass???How Much Harder??

Participant count
  • Participant list

Miller
10+ year member

$
Right now i have 2 10" Apline type-R subs in a Q-Logic Hatchback Sealed box and I want them to hit harder....Since i want them hitting harder I was going to get a Bandpass for the subs....Does the Fit of the bandpass to the subs make a big difference?? How much harder will these subs hit in a bandpass over a sealed box???

well for the beginer i dont recomend a bandpass box.....due to the poor freq. response unless built properly.......also alpine is more of a sq sub.....good luck

I advise using a bandpass box for Alpine Type R's. With a bandpass box, your measurements need to be exact and the box needs to be designed specifically for the driver it will be holding. If you want it louder, build a ported box...but beware that you may loose some of your sound quality given in the sealed box.

- Steve

Well, Obviously im not an expert... but im building my very first box and it is a Bandpass. So far, so good. It is actually pretty simple for me, I'm only 17 but my best quality is my wood working skills. I build many things and i have the help of my building and sound system expert father. (sorry, carried away) I think you might as well give it a shot. ( I mean... It costs what? $13 to get supplies... ) Im just learning from experience.

I have a small Question to ask the experts... Do i want to carpet all the sides separately? I mean if i cover the board with carpet what good is caulking?

Originally posted by theunforgiven PS: What thickness for plexiglass do you guys suggest? i have 2 10" subs (I dont know what they are because they arent mine... im building the box for a friend.)
Anywhere from 3/4" and thicker...anything smaller will flex, which wont be good;)