Apparently a twist on Bluetooth HU pairing

Participant count
  • Participant list

City Rat

Hi all,

First post newbie here with a question. I recently bought a used 2002 Mercedes CLK 55 convertible. It came with a decent Bose 8 speaker setup OEM, an unnoticeable OEM sub, and a completely outdated HU. I swapped out the OEM HU for an Alpine 138BT single DIN which fit the space and had the features that U wanted in terms of front access for USB and Aux jack in, the PAC adapter to bring online the Bose speakers and added a Sound Ordnance Powered sub box temporarily until the summer when I can spend a day tearing into the trunk and measuring the space that I have to put in a flat piston sub and an amp replacing the OEM Bose sub entirely. (No garage)

The Alpine HU pairs seamlessly with my Blackberry 9800 Torch allowing me to use all the hands free calling options and controls while streaming Pandora or stuff off of my playlists. What I'd like to do is to add, at the same time as my Torch is paired to the HU, my Garmin Nuvi 765T nav unit which has BT. I have tested and the Nuvi pairs easily with the HU allowing me to actually hear the directions through the sound system rather than the tiny nav unit speaker. However, it appears that the HU will only pair with one unit or the other but not both at the same time. In researching the BT protocols it seems that the design of BT is able to accomodate 1 master and up to 8 slave units in a given "piconet". This is why you can have both a BT mouse and a BT keyboard paired at the same time to the same netbook or tablet. I think that the key may lie in processing power in the HU and that is what the guy at Alpine Tech support said, after my helping him to get that conclusion. That said, it is not as though the Nuvi would actually be "taxing" the master HU's resources through occassional requests to use the sound system to announce directions, at least not like streaming audio would.