Amplifier output power vs. electrical system input voltage

emilimo701
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
I'd like a little clarification on amplifier wattage ratings.

I see things like "10000 watts RMS @ 13.8v, 15000 watts RMS @ 14.4v" and wonder... don't the amps have voltage regulators?

Are these ratings meant to imply that the output signal gets louder as voltage increases? Since the system voltage tends to vary, wouldn't you not want this type of behavior in order for music to stay at a constant relative volume?

Im not a pro in audio by any means, however, I read those ratings and base my purchase on what amp can deliver on the minimal volts; IE.. 10000 @11.9v, that way, you charge at a higher voltage and thus get more power, which helps to fight Independence rise your naturally gonna get, and voltage drop on load. It all means your gonna get that rated power no matter what (hypothetically speaking)