Advice needed for audio upgrade of 2014 Toyota Sienna XLE

h4ldol

Hi, new member here. I'm totally new to car audio and desperately need some good advice about how to go about upgrading the audio on my 2014 Toyota Sienna XLE. It has a stock navigation/HU with 6-stock speakers (which are all crap).

Here's the stock setup:

1. (2x) dash speakers (L/R): the stock speakers are 2.5", midrange or tweeters, not sure. Some people have installed 3.5" speakers here with some modification (I don't mind modifying the hole to fit a larger speaker here).

2. (2x) front door speakers (L/R): stock are 6x9 but apparently (per Crutchfield and Sienna owners) most 6x9 speakers don't fit without modification to the door, which I want to avoid, and most use a bracket to attach 6.5" speakers.

3. (2x) rear (3rd row) speakers (L/R): stock are 5.25" but due to the irregular/unusual mounting angle/fit and shallow depth, it is apparently not easy to easily replace these with aftermarket speakers without significant modification to your door (which I would like to avoid).

Here's what I want:

1. Upgrade the front door speakers to 6.5" speakers.

Question: Not sure if I should go with coaxial or component. And if component, where to mount the tweeter? In the door behind the stock grille or in the sail panel (I think that's what it's called -- the trim panel next to the side mirror) or in the dash speaker location? Or should I install coaxial speakers in the front doors and then another set of coaxials in the dash (better since then it will be 2 pairs of woofers/tweeters rather than 1 pair?)?

2. Upgrade the dash speakers.