A-Pillar Build

ewoevo
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
Well, I'm finally installing a system in my car. I'm putting a 3-way component set up front, with the 4's & tweets going in the a-pillars. So far I've put 4 coats of resin on them. Next up is the bondo phase. Here are some pics I took today of the pillar build...

Awesome, looks good so far. Now all you got to do after those are complete is make me a pair.. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/sneaky.gif.7189749b3a3f769e8815b47e8ae87f88.gif

Thanks. It's really not that bad. This is my first try at fiberglassing a-pillars. Honestly, it's the first time in years I've even touched fiberglass. You just need a little patience in the beginning (not my strongest suit). Now the finishing part, hopefully I can get that done. I plan on flocking them instead of painting or covering them.

Thanks. It's really not that bad. This is my first try at fiberglassing a-pillars. Honestly, it's the first time in years I've even touched fiberglass. You just need a little patience in the beginning (not my strongest suit). Now the finishing part, hopefully I can get that done. I plan on flocking them instead of painting or covering them.
Patience is my problem.. I have used fiberglass with several stuff, however, never for any pillars/door panels for speakers..

are you just using the cavity between the apillar and the panel as your airspace? how low do you expect to play your mids? how are you sealing the panel to the vehicle?

resin on cloth doesn't provide strength, it's just a base - you need layers of fiberglass for strength. this method (cloth/resin/filler) usually results in work that doesn't hold up and cracks during install.