4 channel install questions

Participant count
  • Participant list

ladysmanfelpz
10+ year member

Phoenix
K so i am a super noob but really trying to learn all i can about car audio. My friend and I did an install on my 97 legacy of a 10" sub and then later went back and installed a 4 channel amp. I've been watching youtube videos all day and looking at forums but am still really confused on how a 4 channel amp works! My friend did most of that part. So to amp the speakers, the amp is being powered by the battery from the battery and then it is grounded to the chassis for a clearer and safer electrical signal. The RCA's then run from the amp to the HU for i don't know why, to transfer data from HU to amp or something. Now I really get subs, but this is where 4 channels confuse me; speaker wire. So amps send the extra power through the speaker wire to drive the speaker better. Well with a sub it just goes straight from the amp to the speaker. Now from what i've been reading there are two ways to amp your door speakers then. One is like the sub where you run wire directly from the amp to the speakers. Two is you leave the factory (or upgraded) speaker wire in place and then splice it with speaker wire coming from the amp right before you put it into the HU. Is this correct? Seems awfully confusing to me. Like I said my friend did most of that while i tapped ground and did other stuff. So do you have to solder it together? Do they make aftermarket harnesses where they are easily spliced?

My big question is though, How do I undo it?!!