350z first full setup, $2,000 budget

subzero88
10+ year member

Hello, I have decided to upgrade my car's sound system and was looking for other opinions.

The only thing I have done audio related in a car was installing an alpine deck. Other than that I have no knowledge or experience so any advice would be appreciated. I have a base 2004 350z with stock head unit and speakers (I am really disappointed with the quality of the speakers). After reading a little and looking around, here is what I came up with following a $2,000 budget.

Head Unit - Kenwood DDX514

Subwoofer - JL 12W6V2

Subwoofer Enclosure - Custom box from concept enclosures

Subwoofer AMP - JL 500/1V2

Front Speakers - JL VR650-CSi Evo VR Component

Rear Speakers - MB Quart DKH116 2-Way Coaxial

Speakers AMP - JL 300/4V2

Capacitor - Soundstorm 2-Farad

Wiring - Kicker 4 Gauge Dual AMP Kit

Total = $2,003

I'm not sure about the wiring or capacitor (by this I mean, I read around so I don't know much). I just know 4 gauge would be good for like 1000watts and I need a capacitor so I have enough power for the speakers and sub.

I am assuming this is all I need to fully upgrade my sound system in my car. I am going to have someone help me install everything or just take it to a shop. Again, I am new to this so any advice is welcome!

Ditch the cap, the 4 gauge will be fine. You probably wont need the cap anyways, do the Big 3 and you shouldnt really have any problems. But it wouldnt hurt i guess. Just not needed.

And overall that looks like fine equiptment, if your not going for massive bass. That'll be some nice bump in that car.

Also, i wouldnt pay what is that, 400$ for a 500 watt jl? You can get amps just as good in power/reliability for way less if all you want is 500 watts. Even if the sub is a 3 ohm? You can get 1k-2k watt amps for the same price, room for upgrade too.

were you getting it installed at a shop or doing it yourself?

Are you set on jl equipment?