2016 Corolla - Installed single sub - Rockford amp - LOC - Car won't start

Participant count
  • Participant list

Mad4Jen

Noob here - installed and LOC - tapped into the rear speakers into an LOC - Checked ground is good - 12V directly to battery - when I push the start button on the car it starts up and immediately turns off and gives me the battery symbol on the console???

I check the LOC and amp and their respective blue power lights are lit. Some of the locals say its a grounding issue - checked it as best I could - checked continuity between the amp ground at the amp and the negative battery terminal - some also said the remote cable was the problem - the LOC has a remote cable and it is connected to the amp - it senses current from the rear speakers and if it is there - i guess sends a signal to the amp to turn on, correct??

Any thoughts?? brand new 2016 Corolla, don't want to tear it up yet - not even a month old. Don't want to go into the HU. Not sure where I went wrong.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mad4Jen

Remove the power cable leading to amp/loc.

If it starts up then you have a battery sensor which the power wires need to run thru the sensor and not direct.

Sent from my Z970 using Tapatalk

Yes - forgot to add that - when the car shut down, the entire computer console shut down. When we disconnected the power cable from the battery terminal - the car started fine and the computer system, GPS, cameras, stereo, bluetooth, etc. rebooted and came back up. This is what I am most afraid about is doing something that knocks that out.

When you say bypass the sensor - how do you do that exactly? Go through the fuse box for power? We installed a rather large power cable, must be 3/8" in diameter or more, I guess we would reduce that somehow to get into the box?

I can research it myself, but my research almost always leads me to the pros on this site.

Thanks for the replies and sorry for the stupid questions