2014 Ford Escape; advantage of external amp?

Austex

Background

2014 Ford Escape SE with non-Sony sound system, 8" touch screen controls; this is a 9-speaker system as follows:

(1) 3.5" front center speaker in top of the dashboard

(4) 6 1/2" speakers, one in each door (labeled "25W" on the magnets)

(2) tweeters, one in each front "A" pillar

(2) tweeters, one in each rear door

FWIW I believe an identical non-Sony system is found in many '13-'14 Ford Focus models.

I have the full Ford wiring/workshop manual and am competent reading those and making automotive wiring mods; I am not an audio expert by any means.

The heavily CANBUS integrated OEM system does not have a pre-amp output that I can find in the wiring diagrams. The sound / speaker system is active for SYNC and phone communications even when not used for 'entertainment' functions. I have no idea what the OEM system rated output is in watts (see clue of "25W" label on the OEM speakers); again, this is the non-Sony system so has no DSP/dedicated amp/subwoofer.

Goal

I'm age 60-ish, listen mainly to 60's-70's rock, classical and jazz from the CD. Most of my in-home music is on vinyl through Nakamichi pre and power amps I've had forever since new. The OEM system is 'muddy' to my ear, lacks clarity in the midrange and lacks crisp punch in bass. I do not like boomy bass and do not play my music to entertain drivers in adjacent cars. I am not trying to get 'super-premium' sound out of this system - just a bit better clarity and smoothness across the spectrum, with component features and cost 'balanced' toward that goal.

Modifications to Date

I have recently installed Alpine SPS-610C component speakers to replace all of the woof/mid OEM speakers and tweeters in the OEM locations. The sound quality is much improved in mid/high ranges to my ear. I have disconnected the small 'front-center' speaker completely - that eliminated a 'muddy' component of the sound.

Subwoofer on Order