2008 Lancer Install

Participant count
  • Participant list

oni
10+ year member

Texas
Anyone with an 08 or newer Lancer/Evo. I getting ready to do an install on mine and was wondering if anyone else has any experience.

What I'm thinking is starting with the obvious .... 1/0 Big 3!

I want to do a Kenwood DNX5120 H/U, Components in the front (haven't finalized which), and an Fi Q 12" 2 Ohm DVC. I already have an Eclipse PA4212 for the fronts and a BX1505D for the Sub.

I was thinking of mounting an amp under each front seat to conserve space. I've never done this for an amp install before so I'm looking for any Pros/Cons. I'm thinking about building a topless box for each amp that doesn't extend all the way to the top of the amp for airflow with a removable tray. Last thing I want is to mount it to the floor and have my car pool spill coffee again. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/furious.gif.fc81ca146dbff91fede3ed290dbc4f4c.gif (In all fairness, it was the **** Deer's fault for making me dodge it, but who can complain about going sideways at 65 mph in a controlled slide around a deer //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/wow.gif.23d729408e9177caa2a0ed6a2ba6588e.gif)

Anyway, my biggest concern is making sure my amps don't overheat in that location and light my ass on fire. But as I said, because I carpool with 2 others to work, the car is pretty full and I'd like to keep some space. Below is a link for a custom box build for the trunk (for trunk space reference). I'll probably go with a standard 1.4 (after displacement) cubes box. I've never tried fiber glassing like that link and I don't think I want to try to learn with my new car. Heh.

I've only done 2 other builds for my self and they were much less involved so anyone helpful comments are much appreciated.

Trunk Link - http://forums.evolutionm.net/evox-sale-electronics-lighting-audio/380617-evo-x-subwoofer-enclosure-wicked-cas-magicbox-started.html (Page 2 about 1/3 down has a great view)