Will my Amp be able power my Sub?

Participant count
  • Participant list

graygray

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi, I'm very new to this car audio thing but I had my eye on this sub woofer for a while now but I'm not quite sure if my chosen amp will be able to power my sub to its full potential or be able to power it at all. I haven't bought anything so I'm open for suggestions. The sub I had is mind is:
JBL Stadium 12″ 500rms DVC Subwoofer , which is supposed to be switchable between 4 and 2 impedance.
The amp I think maybe would work is:
Targa TG-SV8000.1 8000W Monoblock Amplifier, which is rated at 400W RMS @ 2-Ohms
Please and Thank you :)

I don't know hardly anything about Targa, but if their RMS value is valid then it will work. Still if you haven't bought the amp you may want to go larger. Ideally it should be matched or slightly more powerful than the subwoofer's RMS value.

If you're from south africa this group won't be able to help you pick parts much beyond whatever the manufacturers say since your import rules are so strict. JBL I trust the manufacturer claims on, Targa I have no idea.

Hi, I'm very new to this car audio thing but I had my eye on this sub woofer for a while now but I'm not quite sure if my chosen amp will be able to power my sub to its full potential or be able to power it at all. I haven't bought anything so I'm open for suggestions. The sub I had is mind is:
JBL Stadium 12″ 500rms DVC Subwoofer , which is supposed to be switchable between 4 and 2 impedance.
The amp I think maybe would work is:
Targa TG-SV8000.1 8000W Monoblock Amplifier, which is rated at 400W RMS @ 2-Ohms
Please and Thank you :)
Please double check that sub. DVC is not going to be able to do 2 or 4 ohm. The final impedance you'll need to drive is either half or double what the coils are. SO dual 2 ohm would wire to either 1 or 4, dual 4 ohm would wire to 2 or 8.