Why multiple ohm?

Participant count
  • Participant list
Hey people, I have questions regarding ohm. I'm new to car audio and I'm not fully understanding this.

Okay, I think I understand how amps work. Basically splits it's power signal when it's set for more ohm. For example

600 @4ohm

1200 @2ohm

1800 @1ohm

The fewer ohm, the more concentrated watts. And the woofers ohm, divide by 2. If you have 4ohm, wire parallel (whatever the hell that means) and run 2ohm from the amp.

My question is, why do you need 4 or 2? Why are woofer with fewer ohm more expensive? Why not make all woofers 2ohm and amps to match?

Is this question is dim-witted I'm sorry I'm new to this and I'm partially retarded, or at least self proclaimed. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/fro.gif.c695f1f814b01c4ad99fe7f8cccadd29.gif

Hey people, I have questions regarding ohm. I'm new to car audio and I'm not fully understanding this.
Okay, I think I understand how amps work. Basically splits it's power signal when it's set for more ohm. For example

600 @4ohm

1200 @2ohm

1800 @1ohm

The fewer ohm, the more concentrated watts. And the woofers ohm, divide by 2. If you have 4ohm, wire parallel (whatever the hell that means) and run 2ohm from the amp.

My question is, why do you need 4 or 2? Why are woofer with fewer ohm more expensive? Why not make all woofers 2ohm and amps to match?

Is this question is dim-witted I'm sorry I'm new to this and I'm partially retarded, or at least self proclaimed. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/fro.gif.c695f1f814b01c4ad99fe7f8cccadd29.gif
Ohms is a measure of resistance. Imagine an amplifier has a given driving force. Doubling the resistance on that force (going from 2 ohms to 4 ohms for example) will halve the overall work created. That's ohms, in a nutshell.