what speakers for the rear?

unkle11
10+ year member

hi guys

i'm actually new to this whole car audio thing so please bear with me,

ok so far i have a set of mb quart dsd 216 components and a cheapo lanzar 4 channel amp, it's a vibe 420 i think, what i want to know is what sort of speakers should i be getting for the rear? do i get 6 by 9's? or should i fit in a pair of subs? or can another set of components go in there? i read that 6 by 9's aren't very good for imaging, so what other alternatives do i have keeping in mind i don't really want to cut up the car unless i really have to, should i just keep the rear stock and use 2 channels of the amp to power the woofer? all this kit is going into a 03 civic coupe, will that help?

thanks

Depending on who replies, you'll get different answers.

some if you have components up front, you don't need any speakers in the back (referred to as rear fill) because it ruins "imaging". Some put speakers in the back in case they have people back there. I would advise against 6x9s, get a plate adaptor thing and get 6.5" circular speakers, they don't distort as easily as oval speakers. For instance, I bought my 6x9s before ever reading anything, and when i amped them to get there full RMS, they distorted ALOT and it was unbearable to listen to.

i say forget rear fill. i have no rear fill except for a single e12a off 1200 watts and i've never heard anyone complain about how it sounds lol. mind you this is also in a 4 door jimmy so.

adam

Yea.. everyone has a different opinion. I just have two speakers up front and my subs in the back, but Im in a truck. If I put speakers in the rear, they'd be right beside my ear and ruin my hearing. :-D