warm dust caps?!

Jerhemy
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
WI
I am running two sa 15's off a kicker zx2500.1 (you may remember seeing my previous thread about sending the sa's that much power) that I have set the gains with a DMM to output 1000 wrms to each sub at 2 ohms.

The subs sound great and I have not been smelling any voice coil heat or anything. But last night I took a nice cruise and had them bumpin pretty hard for around 25 minutes straight, with several small breaks in the music between songs and such. When I got home I felt the dust caps and they were definitely a bit warm, is this suspect of them getting too much power or over worked?

any info would be great,

I don't have any experience with this, but I'd assume it's just the heat radiating from the rest of the subwoofer. It's probably fine, but I'm not 100% sure.

clipping !!!! the subs not enough battery juice
i suppose it could be clipping, I don't hear anything as far as distortion or clipping, btu i'm no expert. I doubt it's low voltage, i rarely drop below 13 volts while driving, and I don't bump while sitting still usually. i have the big 3 in 0 gauge, optima YT, 2 runs of 0 to the back, kinetik 2400.

is there any way to test clipping without an oscilloscope*? I set the gains to 60 volts AC with my dmm on a 50 hertz 0db test tone at 3/4 volume.

---------- Post added at 10:44 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:43 AM ----------

Rofl I cant even touch mine most of the time.
haha, word man? what are you running? jw.

i wasn't too worried cause I couldn't smell the coils cooking at all, but I am just curious as to if I need to worry about this.

what size alt do you have ?
supposed to be 240 amp at 1200 rmp, but it's not an iraggi* or mechman or anything, it's a world power systems alt, so it might not be that powerful. I don't get any light dim or anything.

what size alt do you have ?
scaled.php