VERY basic question regarding RMS, can i get advice?

chunkdude

so im very new to car audio. i recently bought a new deck, its a panasonic thats otuputs 4 X 50, im guessing thats peak. it says it meets a CEA-2006 power rating standard thing of 18W RMS X 4. im looking to replace the stock speakers that came in the car, its got 6 X 9's in the back and 6.5 inches in the doors in the front. so what i am wondering if what speakers wattage i should be looking for. Im not running any amplifiers, i just want half decent basic sound.

so yeah on all the speakers im looking at, they have a reccomended wattage rating (usually between 30 and 70) and a peak wattage. so for my very basic setup, what reccomended wattage should i be looking for.

for instance what will my sound be like on speakers rated at 30 RMS vs. ones rated at 70 RMS.

thanks, again i apologize as this is probably the most basic thing but i cant seem to get a clear answer on this anywhere.

it doesnt matter if your speakers are 30 or 70 RMS, your headunit isnt powerfull enough to make the difference. i suggest you buy a component set, and put an amp to them.

Just about any speaker will sound ok at best off HU power. I highly recommend you amp them. However, if thats not in the cards right now, you should be able to get away with powering them off the HU. Obviously a 70 RMS speaker isnt going to perform the best off only 10-15 watts. It all depends on the speakers sensitivity size VC etc.

okay so to rephrase, if im just running it off the head unit, will i get the same sound if i use speakers rated at 30 and speakers rated at 70, or will i get better sound coming from one end of the spectrum.

also if im not using an amp will i still get distortion at higher volumes, right now on the crap speakers on the car theres quite a bit of distortion at louder volumes.