Vented Enclosure Design...Questions, NEED HELP

Participant count
  • Participant list

liljoe0985
10+ year member

First off, this is my first attempt at building a vented enclosure from the beginning to the end. Before, I built off specs for my boxes from a guy I knew in the business but I'm no longer in contact with him so dealing with the tuning of the vent and its variables is new to me. I used the calculators on 12volt.com and Carstereo.com to determine my vent measurements. One question I have is for the vent opening. Is there a general rule or minimum opening width and length to keep port noise down? Maybe I just don't understand what I've found but can't seem to find the answer I'm looking for. I just seem to have a problem with relating the subwoofer spec sheet to calculator to design. I'm attaching the current sketchup model of what I've come up with so far...I may be off a lil on my final box volume but got lost when making corrections and didn't check it. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I want to somewhat fully understand this before I get started. I do NOT want to half *** it!