tuning my box

Participant count
  • Participant list

dvldogyut
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
loretto, tn
i am pretty new to all of this. i am building a downfiring box for two incriminator audio 187 series 12's. what should i tune my box to for the lowest hard hitting bass without damaging my subs? and where should i place my port? facing down with the subs? and what is the best way to wire them? in a series or parallel?

this is from their site.

Driver 12 Inch

MSRP $149

FS 34 Hz

Re 6 ohm series

Qms 4.79

Qes .58

Qts .52

Mms 152 g

Cms .148 mm/N

Sd 530

Vas 55 L 105 L

Spl 87.3 db 1w/1m

BL 18 TM

X-max 22 mm p2p

Sub Diameter 12 1/4"

Mounting 11 1/8"

Mounting Depth 6 1/4"

Driver Displacement .10 cubic ft.

Power 300 Wrms / 600 peak

Driver 187 Series 12 Dual 2 ohm

Sealed 1.4 cubes - 2 cubes

Ported 2 cubes - 2.5 cubes, 20 - 30 Inches of Port, 28-35 Hz

On this sub page, I will prove how important it is for a woofer to be tuned to its speaker cabinet. This is quite a long page with charts and definitions but contains the most important information dealing with speaker design and is well worth your reading. Save it or add a bookmark if you don't have time to read it all. First I will have to clear up some myths and define some terms. I get many calls from the know-it-all types. When they start spouting off about wanting to "improve" their speakers with new woofers and then ramble on about power handling and magnet size, I know I'll have to spend awhile on the phone reeducating them. This page will hopefully save my vocal cords and reduce my phone bill.

Holidays to Egypt

Apex Professionals LLC