Stock radio and where to get 12 supply to amp

threeputt

south
I have a 2011 Sonata that I am installing a Power Acoustik Reaper REP2-450 Car Amplifier - 450 W PMPO - 2 Channel Amp that I removed from my wrecked Tahoe. I bought a line output converter model SNI-35 from Radio shack and have it wired to stock head unit correct I think so I can use my RCA wires to connect to sub-woofer.

I have the main batter wire run under carpet to Amp but I don't know where to find a hot wire to connect it to my remote connection on the Amp. I know it has to have 12 volts for it to power on and from what I read it should be a hot wire that is hot only when switch is on.

The Sonata has the push button key less start so where would be a good place to find a 12 volt supply only when car is in the run position. Maybe to the fuse panel somewhere? I am new to this newer type radios but can do most this type work myself as I did do mechanic work for many years. I am just new to cars with push start so I don't know where is a good place to find 12 volts to run to this remote terminal on Amp. Any suggestions on where a good 12 volt supply without removing the head again. Need it to be only when car is on and not off so no drain on batter. Thanks. Tom

It's not all that easy, your much better off with a better head unit. But you didn't ask that so I'll tell you what I know. You will need Line Output Converter. Some have a built-in remote wire hookup. They also have the preamp output hookups that your stock radio probably doesn't have. Where your RCAs are hooked up for your sound. This is where it gets difficult. The converter will hook up to your rear speakers. But it's important to hook it up right. I'll post a link to help you out.

How to hook up an amp and sub to a stock stereo. - Car Stereo Reviews & News + Tuning, Wiring, How to Guide's