Setup Upgrade question

Participant count
  • Participant list

mason.is.king

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi there, I am fairly new to all this, but Recently i upgraded my setup to include door speakers. I am currently running 2 skar 12s on 1200watt amp which works fine. I have been running this for about 6 months now with no issues.

I recently purchased a skar 500watt 4 channel amp. along with 4 skar tx series 6.5 200 watt door speakers (200 watt peak per pair iirc). I have these wired to two channels because i didn’t have the rca inputs for 4 channels. and i just tuned my subs to be able to turn my knob to mac without clipping, so it’s hitting harder now.

my current issue is that for some reason my second amp for my door speakers turns off in the middle of a song even if my subs aren’t pulling too much power. I’m think about purchasing a 2000 watt amp for my subs and putting in a second battery. My question is if i do this, could i wire my 4 speakers to a monoblock 1200 watt amp? Or is 500 watts enough for those 4 speakers and it just isn’t getting enough power?

Second amp turning off, is this the amp to your door speakers? If yes, check your wiring. You may have the wired down too low for that amp to handle. Are they bridged, and are they wired in series or parallel? What impedance are the speakers, and what impedance can the amp handle? Is the amp bridge rated?