Pro installers only....need advice. Im thinking about getting into the trade.

sicilianiggy

nj
Lemme start off by saying im 30 years old and im an electrician. Im really interested in changing careers and I don't wanna make a mistake. I've always been into car audio. I've had about 6 cars and I pulled every one of them apart and did the system. Now im still a beginner but im really into this.im gonna look into schools .

What im concerned about is I don't know what im getting into because I've never worked at a shop and I'll be at the bottom. Can you guys give me some input as to what to expect starting out.

What kind of work will I be doing?

Is there demand for installers?

with these new cars being so advanced is there the work to keep busy all year for years to come?

Will I be under someone's wing?

starting wage in nyc area?

Usual hours?

Just any and everything you guys can tell me. I'd even appreciate ur experience starting out and what you had to go thru.

Being a good installer has more to do with experience... mostly experience getting interiors taken apart and back together clean and quick, and knowing where to look for what wires.

Most shops' bread and butter is remote starts, tinting, and similar. If you're good at tinting you will have a lot of value at a customs shop, and if you know your way in and out of a remote starts on a wide range of vehicles you'll stay busy.

So you think practicing tinting or taking a class would be good to step in? I don't wanna tint windows all day but I do wanna get a foot in the door. Maybe take a class on remote starters?

Guys please keep stepping in any input would be great.

man says for every 20 customers in the doors = 12 of them will only want window tint installed on their car. 6 of them will want remote starts installed on their car - and the last 2 customers will want car audio stuff installed in their viechles.