Pioneer - Problem Upgrading Firmware

Participant count
  • Participant list

SubaruGuy

CarAudio.com Newbie
I would appreciate some help...

I have been using a Pioneer avh-z5150bt for about 2 years for Android Auto with a Samsung Note 8 phone. It seems very picky about USB cables, but has gone through periods where for weeks, no matter what the cable, it just will not fire up Android Auto when connected. Instead jumps into AppRadio mode which seems pretty useless. This also implies that it is connecting and may exclude the cable from blame.

It has been stuck in AppRadio mode again for weeks. I have
- tried various cables, including some high quality cables and a brand new (and totally over priced Samsung high data / high power cable)
- cleaned the Note 8 usb port with spirits
- hard reset the unit via the recessed reset button on the front of the unit
- cussed at it

Pioneer provide no support in SA, they only provide a disinterested "official reseller". An independent installer advised that I try upgrading firmware, which I am attempting via USB.

Have tried a few configurations on the USB flash drive. The instructions refer to a file (presumably the .avh inside a provided zip file) and the instructions state that it should be the only file on the drive. Did that, and also tried with the zip file on the drive, the .avh file in a folder, or just the file. The unit seems to see the file when it is just the file alone and proceeds to the warning screen, but complains that it cannot find the file the otherwise and does not reach the warning screen.

Hence, I know that the unit is seeing the file.

However, it does not seem to start copying over the file, instead the unit freezes up / hangs. This happens as soon as I accept the warnings about not interrupting the process. I have left it for up to 1/2 an hour to see if it will recover, it does not.