Orion HCCA4500.1 Install Question

Participant count
  • Participants list

Phae

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hello guys! New to the forum and my first post.
I’m new to the car audio world and just getting into it more. I somewhat know what I’m doing but I have a question I can’t find the answer to.

I have two Harmony audio monolith 1ohm 12 inch subwoofers both rated at 3000 rms each speaker in a ported enclosure. I did the big 3 upgrade and got myself a 450 amp mechman alternator. I’ve been having trouble with badly made amps. So I finally ordered me a decent one an Orion 4500.

My question is the seller messaged me “The minimum requirements” for the amplifier. They are as follows, 1 ohm speaker impedance(already done), minimum three 0AWG power inputs, three 0AWG grounds, 2 AGM batteries alongside the main battery and high output alternator.

are the extra batteries and 3 power and grounds really necessary powering two 12 monoliths?
Could I just use one power and ground and not damage the amplifier or speakers? I know I could always push it harder if I wanted to but was just curious.

don’t rail me to hard I’m new 😂

Attachments

• D4AF52E1-314C-48A7-8147-5B603C3EFC7B.png
    D4AF52E1-314C-48A7-8147-5B603C3EFC7B.png
    490.9 KB · Views: 29
  • 5E63BBED-D0D7-4584-9EF0-FA0F063DE3C9.jpeg
    5E63BBED-D0D7-4584-9EF0-FA0F063DE3C9.jpeg
    80.4 KB · Views: 25
That thing pulls a lot of power. No way I would spend that kind of money on a amplifier and then skimp on the power wire.

I do have a spare 12V AGM battery laying around, I could have two to it at the least. My main concern was could I just hook it up 1 to 1 for the time being and not damage anything. So I could buy more power down the road you know what I mean.

I do have a spare 12V AGM battery laying around, I could have two to it at the least. My main concern was could I just hook it up 1 to 1 for the time being and not damage anything. So I could buy more power down the road you know what I mean.