Orange Mojo 12, recone or sell?

stpierce

I picked up a an older Memphis Mojo 12 for pretty cheap that needs some work before it is usable. All in 1 area, there is a huge hole in the surround, a dented dustcap and the cone is missing a small piece. I'm not looking for a competition ground pounder, just more power than my Eclipse 8810 can handle.

My first thought was recone after I looked at all the work SPLAudio had done. But I tried to email and Facebook him with no response for a few weeks now. On the scale of most of the members here, I am far from an expert, but was able to do an adequate re-surround job on the 8810. If this was your sub, would you DIY repair, have a local shop recone, send off to be reconed, or just sell and keep on looking?View attachment 26554248View attachment 26554247View attachment 26554249

I picked up a an older Memphis Mojo 12 for pretty cheap that needs some work before it is usable. All in 1 area, there is a huge hole in the surround, a dented dustcap and the cone is missing a small piece. I'm not looking for a competition ground pounder, just more power than my Eclipse 8810 can handle. My first thought was recone after I looked at all the work SPLAudio had done. But I tried to email and Facebook him with no response for a few weeks now. On the scale of most of the members here, I am far from an expert, but was able to do an adequate re-surround job on the 8810. If this was your sub, would you DIY repair, have a local shop recone, send off to be reconed, or just sell and keep on looking?View attachment 26554248View attachment 26554247View attachment 26554249
i'd hit up ultra audio on facebook to put together a nice recone kit for based on how much power and what your goals are with the sub. Reconing it yourself is very easy. I thought it was scary at first but after doing one, its hella simple. Gonna do two more subs soon myself.