Opinion on install finishing touches

Participant count
  • Participant list

redsoxfanChris
10+ year member

Virginia
Hello to all you 12V knuckleheads out here,

I'm one too, don't take the salutation to heart, lol.

Anyway, i'm close to finishing my amateur SQ install. Kind of irrelevant, but I want to plant the seed that I have spent a very particular attention to detail. I've been a custom installer for about 15 years now, but I have really hit a wall here with this one.

So I need some opinions for finishing my hatch.

Here's what I have: (in the hatch)

1 x JL Audio 500/1 => JL 13w3-4

1 x JL Audio 300/2 => JL ZR 650-CSi

2 x JL distribution blocks

and other assorted install related stuff.

I have built a false floor, with the sub in the spare tire well in the middle of the hatch (big Cougar hatch) with an amp on each side. Both amps and the sub have their own small enclosure under the false floor, under plexiglass, so i can cover everything with friction panels so I can "hide" all of it, and it will look like just another trunk floor.

My question: What color and material should i make the inside of these boxes, which can seen under and around the sub and amps? I.E. paint, formica, mirror.

I'm using Blue and Silver power/ground, and I have tons of blue neon accents I can use.

So what does anyone think? I was thinking maybe brushed aluminum Formica, or mirrors. But BA formica might clash with the amps too much.

Any thought will be greatly appreciated.

You can check out my gallery and see a few pix I've posted

redsoxfanChris's Album: 99 Mercury Cougar SQ build

Thanks, Chris

great ideas. the finished product should be awesome.

if it were me, i'd go black. i'd want the amps to stand out. gloss black would work well IMO. or, if you have a color theme in or on the car, it could match.

resin, fg, sand, fill, sand, fill, sand, sand, sand, paint. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif