ok. another n00b question. how to hook up a 6 channel?

Participant count
  • Participant list

jockhater2
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Veteran
Headunit kenwood kdc 895

I'm looking at picking up that audison LRx 6.9 and maybe those old mb quarts 6.25s.

I have no idea. I've never used a multi channel amp before.

I would be hooking up 2 tweets, 4. Coaxials and 2 components. (I might add more components)

I might change that up. I don't know. I just figured since I maximized my sub stage. I'll go crazy with the front stage.

But what RCAs would I need? Sleeze said I would run a 4 channel rca or 2 2 channels.

Ok. I see that my HU says it has 6 channel pre amp outputs. But 2 of them are for sub...so should I safely assume that a 6 channel amp is used for full range speakers + sub?

Can I use the audison 6 channel like a 4 channel?

Thanks for the help. Feel free to rip on me for the question haha

Last edited by a moderator:
So running active?
I just need to know if I should be looking at a 4 channel or if I can make use of that 6 channel. Can I hook it up to my HU?

Kenwood Excelon KDC-X895 CD receiver at Crutchfield Outlet

it says my HU has 6 channel pre amp outputs.

but 2 of them are for the subs?

I guess what I am looking for is a simple answer.

is a 6 channel amplifier used to power all full range speakers? or is it meant for full range + sub?

Yes, get 2 Y-splitters to make the 4 front and rear channels 6. I had to do that with my JVC sub channel thats a mono.

You can use the Audison's 5-6 channels as either a sub bridged or as another set of fronts/rears.

Yes, get 2 Y-splitters to make the 4 front and rear channels 6. I had to do that with my JVC sub channel thats a mono.
You can use the Audison's 5-6 channels as either a sub bridged or as another set of fronts/rears.
ok. Thank you SO MUCH. I have a sub amp. So. I would like to use the Audisons 5-6 channel as front/rears.

To do that. I need to...