new subs not very loud, help.

jmw703
10+ year member

First off, this is my first post on these forums and i do not know where this thread should go but oh well..Secondly, im relatively new to car audio so dont tear me up if i dont know what im talking about.

Anyways i just bought 2 kicker cvr 12s, the 2007 models if that matters, in a kicker box. I paired them up with a new rockford fosgate 4 gauge kit and a hifonics brutus brz1200.1d.

So me and my dad hooked them up yesterday and i was rather disappointed, they are not as loud as i thought they would be. They are louder but not terribly louder than my previous setup which was 2 pioneer 10s rated at 120rms per sub and they were wired to 4 ohms only getting 85-90 watts per sub on an old, cheap 2 channel amp.

My question is could i have hooked it up wrong ? I know the gain shouldnt be that high, I'm overpowering the subs by 50 rms each as it is.

Or could it be my head unit? im using a alpine cde-100 which only has 1 2v pre out which is currently being used for my speaker amp, i had to get a pac-LC1 RCA knob to adjust the sub bass. Would i need to get a HU with more than one 4v pre outs?

Any thoughts, suggestions or input would be helpful, thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
So are you using a line out converter? Are you sure you didn't swap any wires for the subs? If it's not very loud chances are you wired them out of phase, i.e. when one sub moves forward, the other moves inward, and they cancel eachother out. Try disconnecting one sub and see if that makes a difference.

Well if he's using a LOC he might not have set the output voltage on it correctly, so he may have to crank the gain to match up the amp to the preout. However I still think you may have wired the subs wrong

have you tried it with out the knob? I would double check all wiring like stated above. If everything is correct then build a box for them. the kicker one is small and tuned really high