New box or new sub/amp?

Participant count
  • Participant list

Terrum
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Recruit
I currently have a Rockford R750-1D amp and an Orion XTR152D sub with this ported box https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/262891168376. The seller said that the box was tuned to 42hz. Being a newbie I had no idea the calculations involved to ensure my sub's driver could actually handle the box's tuning, or what kind of box I should've even got. I just got a ported one because they require less power than a sealed box.

So my first question is, what would be the best way to find out what box tuning would be best for my sub? My second question is, would I be able to achieve a 25-30hz tuning with my current sub and amp if I got an appropriate box or will I need to invest into a new sub and amp as well?

Any help is greatly appreciated! :)

Last edited:
Unless the seller designed the box specifically for your sub then saying it is tuned to 42 hz is inaccurate. The speaker's measurements must be used to determine the box design. You can build a box to your desired specs but you need to know the Thiele measurements of your sub. They should be listed in the manual or on the Orion website. If you are shooting for 20 hz you may need to build a very large box to do so. Typically the larger the box the lower the tuning. I am an advocate of sealed boxes because they are more forgiving than ported boxes as far as design goes and they play deep in a car. The catch is they need more power to get as loud. I am not an expert in box design software but you can get software that lets you put in your sub's specs and it will tell you what boxes will work best. You can also plug in what you want to achieve, tuning wise, and it will tell you the box dimensions you need to get that. Good luck with it and have fun tuning.