Need some tuning help guys!

Participant count
  • Participant list

Matt C
10+ year member

Finally got my sub and amp installed in my car. I kept the factory head unit, this is in a '00 Grand Prix GTP with BOSE, got a adjustable line out converter and hooked it up to my P325.1 RF amp with a P3SD410 sub. I'm new to all this and there are a bunch of adjustments to make and I don't know what to do. The line out converter I got has 2 adjusters on it, the amp has the LP, AP, HP crossover switch, then the Gain and frequency knobs. I tried it out a little just adjusting by sound and it isn't very impressive. I understand it won't sound the greatest using the factory deck but it should be better with some tuning. Can ya guys help me out, remembering I'm new to this stuff so explain the best you can. Can't crank it too much anyway till the sub is broke in since it's brand new. Thanks alot in advance.

read through these. they help a lot. the gain setting info is on page 42 on the gain setting tutorial thread.

read through these. they help a lot. the gain setting info is on page 42 on the gain setting tutorial thread.
Sorry read through what?

EDIT: I found the gain setting tutorial and went to page 42, that helped quite a bit.

I think I've got a basic understanding for setting the gain, but what about the crossover switch, what position do i put it in? LP-AP-HP? Then the frequency knob? Plus alot of the adjustments it talks about arn't really the same with the factory deck, don't have many adjustments. The way it's set right now it barley even hits, only on certain notes, and when it does hit it doesn't sound right. I've got a old 12" pioneer sub and 222W sony behind the seat of my truck and it sounds alot better then this.

If your running a sub you'll want to set the switch to LP, which means "Low Pass Crossover." This filters out all of the frequencies above the set point, allowing only frequencies lower than the set point to get to the sub.