Need some basic help with a 15" Type-R and a ported box

Participant count
  • Participant list

miska_man
10+ year member

Hi, I'm new to car audio within the last 6 months or so and already have somewhat of a system going. After ready miscellaneous information spewed around the interwebz, I figured joining a forum might be a better idea.

I'm on my second box (custom designed and built by me and friends to fit in MY cars trunk). Right now it's sealed, but I'm in the process of redoing it to make it ported. My goal is LOUD and IMPRESSIVE on a budget.

Basically what I'm trying to figure out is the proper port length to accomplish my goal, but I keep on coming up with different numbers in WinISD and other calculators. Right now I have a 3" OD round port (2.45" ID) and my goal is to tune to 30hz. Can anyone give me some recommendations or tips/hints?

My current setup consists of the following:

• Alpine Type-R 15" (750RMS, 2000 max)
  • Kenwood KAC-9104D (supposedly an 1800 watt amp, looks like it's limited to 900watts at 1ohm) was running a 4 ohms, when the box is finished I plan on 1ohm
  • 4 gauge Rockford Fosgate wiring
  • Rockford Fosgate battery terminals
  • Cheapo Sony Xplod headunit (want to upgrade to an Alpine)
  • 5.5 cubic ft external, 4.3 cubes internal volume box; 3/4" MDF custom built (36"x24"x11")
    (made to fit under my rear shelf which is 12.5" from floor)
  • Big three upgrade in the works (4 gauge combined with stock wiring)

Woofer is firing upwards (won't fit under shelf firing backwards/forwards) and I want to have my port facing into the cabin through a hole in the rear armrest (Is this a good idea?)

Video700m00s.jpg

P1011397.jpg

miska_man

P1011375.jpg

P1011379.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: