Mixed ohm loads

Participant count
  • Participant list

psyrex
10+ year member

What happens when I put a 2 ohm load on one channel and 4 ohm load on another of the same amp?

Hi, this is my first attempt at putting an amplifier into a car, but I have done a few HT setups. I have a car with 8 stock speakers / speaker locations. I do intend to eventually change out the stock speakers (I like the Infinity Kappas), but the location points and size will be the same. There are 4 at each side of the car:

- 1.5" tweeter (4 ohm) at the A pillar

- 6.5" (4 ohm) on the door

- 3" (4 ohm) and

- 6x9 (2 ohm) on the rear deck.

I have 6 discrete channels of audio that I want piped to them into a 5.1 type setup. I do not listen to audio with enormous amounts of bass nor do I intend to. Clarity is far more important to me than volume or bass. I will to do the following:

- Tie the 1.5s together as Center channel (2 or 8 ohm combined)

- Use the 6.5s as FL and FR (4 ohm each)

- Use the 3" as RL and RR (4 ohm each)

- Tie the 6x9s on the sub channel (4 ohm combined)

I'm interested in a 5 or 6 channel amp, but I'm not interested in those amps that have 4 channels with A/B topology and 1 or 2 channels at D topology since I have 5 channels I want on A/B. Something like the JL Audio e6450 sounds very appealing to me. 45w RMS on the channels should be fine for me since my stock 15-20w RMS gets plenty loud for my tastes. If I eventually go with a sub, I'll tie in the 6x9s as rear channels and get another amp just for the sub.

If you guys see anything wrong with the above, please let me know.

Anyways, the question. I've been searching for over a month now on various forums, and I haven't found an answer to this:

What happens when I put a 2 ohm load on one channel and 4 ohm load on another of the same amp? Assuming the amp is both 2- and 4- ohm stable, of course.