Looked at the guts of my amp, Anything seem abnormal?

xmakeafistx
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
Kenosha, WI
IMG_0266.jpg

IMG_0261.jpg

IMG_0260.jpg

IMG_0259.jpg

IMG_0258.jpg

Does anybody notice anything irregular?

I thought the doughnut like components looked a little unwound.. All of the stuff around it is glue.

Any comments on this would be great, just wondering if there is anything wrong with my amp. It seemed there wasn't that much output when I first used it. I got a steal on it.. so I figured there may have been something wrong. It works perfectly fine other than that. I was thinking maybe a misaligned gain knob?

EDIT: The warranty seal was not broken when I bought this, so I know it has not been tampered with.

I am no expert, but it looks fine to me. As far as low output. Use a dmm and a tone to set your gains. This could help to see if anything is wrong with the amp. And check your line out level the same way. I'd check everything I could, before suspecteing the amp.

I mean nothing looked burned from what I could tell, I didn't smell it either. Also I'm almost positive its not my line out, but I think i'm going to set my gains with a DMM and see where that gets me.

I need to find out what my amp puts out at 8 ohms though, is there any equation for this?

I mean nothing looked burned from what I could tell, I didn't smell it either. Also I'm almost positive its not my line out, but I think i'm going to set my gains with a DMM and see where that gets me.
I need to find out what my amp puts out at 8 ohms though, is there any equation for this?
Normally half what it does at 4 ohms. Amps are limited by the rail voltage or current. So your voltage can't go over this amount or it clips. At 8 ohms your amp will draw half the current that it would at 4. And so half the watts.

What amp do you have? And what are you pushing at 8 ohms?

Its all in my current signature. This is a Hifonics BXI 2010d, and i'm running it to an older RE8 at 8 ohms.