LC2i removal

Participant count
  • Participant list

CMO45

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hello all, semi-noob here. I have a ram 1500 non Alpine edition. When I first installed my subs and amp into my truck I had to get a line out converter (LC2i). After a year or so, I ended up buying a new head unit (Sony XAV-AX1000). Obviously the new head unit had RCA connections that I was able to run straight into my amp. My problem is.. I figured I no longer needed the LC2i since I had the new head unit, so once I removed it the subs stopped receiving power. It's probably a dumb question but I don't understand why. The only thing connecting my LC2i to my amp is the remote wire..

The head unit harness has a blue-white wire which is the remote wire. You need to connect that wire to the remote in that is going to your amplifier. So from Sony blue-white wiring harness back to the remote in on the amplifier.

Last edited:
The head unit harness has a blue-white wire which is the remote wire. You need to connect that wire to the remote in that is going to your amplifier. So from Sony blue-white wiring harness back to the remote in on the amplifier.
once that is done, I can completely remove the LOC?

Yep shouldn't need it anymore with the head unit having RCA Pre-Outs and the remote wire out on the harness. That is what that LC2i is for so you can have the rca pre-outs to go back to an amplifier and the remote wire out to the amplifier so the amplifier turns on when the head unit turns on. With a Sony head unit in there you replaced that with a much better setup all around.

Yep shouldn't need it anymore with the head unit having RCA Pre-Outs and the remote wire out on the harness. That is what that LC2i is for so you can have the rca pre-outs to go back to an amplifier and the remote wire out to the amplifier so the amplifier turns on when the head unit turns on. With a Sony head unit in there you replaced that with a much better setup all around.