Interference/distortion please help

Participant count
  • Participant list

RawbDidIt

Alright, I have a weird problem I'll post here, any help would be appreciated as I have NO clue what's going on. At high levels (30-40 out of 50 from the head unit) I hear distortion coming from my right rear speaker. At higher levels (40-45/50 from HU) it spreads to the front right speaker as well. Does anybody know what might cause this? I've been running this setup for the past 6-9 months with no changes, and it just started happening today. I've done some minor troubleshooting, the results of which are posted below, as well as components in the system.

Troubleshooting:

I put the balance and fade to right rear, and increased volume until I heard the distortion, then switched the cable so that same cable was powering the left rear speaker. Switched the balance to left and heard no distortion, so it's not my RCA cable running from my HU to the amp. The distortion at first is localized only to the right rear, but even with the balance and fade set to right rear, at higher levels, the distortion can be heard coming from the right front speaker as well. No other sound, just the distortion (sounds like the cone delaminated). Pulled the grilles off of both speakers, no signs of damage to cones or surround, no burnt smell either, same for amp. The only thing that I can think of is interference between speaker level wires leaving the amp, or the amp itself is causing the interference. I'm leaning towards the amp since the speakers seem physically OK, and I've been running this for months and have just now heard the interference.

Disclaimers:

The speakers are NOT overpowered. They are rated at 250W RMS, 500W peak, my amp is at about 2/3 max gain, and can only produce 85W/channel at 4 ohm load. My amp can't exeed the speakers ratings, and my HU can't push too much power to the amp as my gain is set well below max setting.