how much effect does a head unit have on sound quality?

blakgtp
10+ year member

WA
I'm going to put a system in my honda accord. I've had a few systems in the past so I'm not a total noob to car audio. One thing I want in this car though that I haven't had before is a double din touchscreen head unit. My last car had a clarion cz702 which is known as a decent sq head unit. But say I was to buy a head unit like this one: Pioneer AVH-X1500DVD 6.1" Touchscreen DVD/USB/MP3 Car Receiver

apart from having much less eq options and not having the option to run active setups (unless i get a processor) would there be a noticeable different in sound quality between the two head units? I'm not a super picky sound quality guy, more of a sql guy, but I still would be hesitant to buy the double din if there will be a great loss in sound quality. What do you guys think?

-Also on a side note, I wont be using super high end speakers or amps. Most likely I'll have a $200 pair of components for front stage, and a $200 4 channel amp with about 100 watts per channel.

thanks in advance!

a whole helll of alllottt!!!! but that pioneer is still decent, you probably won't notice... you'll just hate the fact when you go and try to use a feature and its not there.... make sure you got decent preout though... just incase you do ever decide to upgrade speaker/sub setup...

There's nothing wrong with 2 volt preamp outputs. I can't think of an amplifier I've ever experienced that couldn't be driven to its maximum output on that voltage.

As for sound quality, an inexpensive unit with a tv screen isn't going to have a lot to offer in that department. It's a simple economic equation... to get a tv screen in a cheap head unit, something else must be left out in order for the manufacturer to still profit on the sale.

There's nothing wrong with 2 volt preamp outputs. I can't think of an amplifier I've ever experienced that couldn't be driven to its maximum output on that voltage.